Of Snips & Styles

A couple of months back I was sitting in the waiting area of my hair salon and for some reason I was reading the Visitor’s Book. I couldn’t be bothered with the holly/bollywood magazines glorifying mere humans. Besides, reading about how someone’s French-manicure was messed up twice over by the Filipino manicurist was much more amusing than Birtney/Rakhi Sawant’s latest stint; especially the bit where the woman goes on to write “I have nothing against her, in fact she was really nice and polite, etc.” Only she was Filipino. Really. She must have said Filipino ten times at the least, as if there lies the answer to her terrible manicure experience. I mean not that I like Filipino’s or anything. Personally I think they are a bit slow. In fact, with the exception of a few Filipinos, the rest of them I know from work annoy the crap out of me. They are really hard working (like I said, they’re slow, so they have to put in that extra effort – yes, I know I sound racist :P) and mostly polite. Only thing really commendable, is that really LIVE. She might be a cashiers at your local supermarket or working at a salon or be a maid or have a good well paying desk job but when you see her outside, at the mall or wherever, you can never pin her down to their level of income. Any of them. They all dress well, eat well, drive nice cars, etc. You’ll always see them either in pairs or in group having a good time. Which is quite applaudable I think. You see a mix of so many nationalities here and people from the subcontinent can almost easily be pinned to their level of income in the way they dress, carry themselves, etc. It would be unfair to say that people from the subcontinent have families back home and they have to save and yada yada yada. All that holds true from them too. Only unlike others, they don’t forget to live a little for themselves too.

So. ANYWAYS. I kept reading hoping there would be many more amusing entries but I was disappointed. Mostly it was people hurrah-ing their hair dressers. I suppose the clientele on the whole were either happy or just generally polite. Probably a combination of both, with the exception of the one lady attempting to get a free manicure by complaining about how bad her’s was. So reading on I came across this one comment about a hair academy. My heart must have stopped for a few seconds.

See the place I go to, Juice, is BIG in Bombay and they have quite a few branches back home. In India, most high end hair salons have academies. Juice has been in Dubai since 4 years and I absolutely LOVE them. So I was quite psyched about the academy. I’ve always wanted to do something creative. Like interior designing or running a restaurant/café. And amongst other such things, running a salon/spa has figured many times.

I leapt up from my seat and ran to my husband’s stylist (yes, I drag R there sometimes) and asked her about it and without a second thought I knew I wanted to do it. Since then I’ve been calling them EVERY month even though I know my name has been put down for it and it starts in March. My main concern being timing because if I quit my job, how pray tell, will I PAY for the academy?

All that nagging and begging paid off and yesterday was our orientation!!! There are 3 instructors and 4 students and the craziness begins March 8!! 5 days a week. 5 – 9 pm. We were there for an hour they gave us a course schedule and briefed us about what we were in for. Mostly sounded fun and more fun 🙂 We’ll be getting a complete kit (finally I’m going to own all those brushes and a professional hair dried and KNOW what to do with it!!). I’m so excited. I hope to God I’ll be good at it and that I can actually get into it full time! Oohhh it’ll be worth it to see their faces when I say I’m quitting to become a hair stylist!!!

Okay, maybe I’m getting ahead of myself. Bet it’ll be terribly hard work. The plan is I’ll be at my real world job from 8 am – 4 pm and then head to the classes!! HOW am I going to pull this off? What about cooking? What’ll my poor husband-who-doesn’t-let-me-go-to-my-mum’s-easy-enough DO for 3 months for food and entertainment?? Actually 6 months considering there’s a 3 month internship too!! I’ll kill him he tried to get naughty though. I will.

I’m really excited yet really worried about it too. I tire easily. And my excitement can go from way up to zilch in a split second. I’ve already got a nice lecture from R about how it’s not going to be easy and there’re going to be plenty of finicky Sindhi aunties who’ll want nothing less than my blood and I’ll have to nod and smile at. How there’s no point if I don’t have the dedication to go through with it and then continue doing it. No point in losing touch a few months/years down the line. How it’ll take time to become a stylist and I’ll have to leave my well paying job and get close to nothing and work under someone for quite some time. Yada yada yada. I know he’s right but he makes everything so dire. I mean SO WHAT if I can’t be bothered with gym-ing or dieting for more than 3 consecutive days. This is different. Right?

Oh, and I wonder how my mum will take all of this.

10 Comments

Filed under dubai, khabroon mein

10 responses to “Of Snips & Styles

  1. Wow, sounds ace!

    Good luck with it all 🙂

  2. Not a bad idea at all! Your husband is right; it’s going to be tough. But with passion and hard work, it’s not impossible. I wish you all the best! Have loads of fun 🙂

  3. Sounds like an ace thing!

    Lucky lucky you!

    Oh, and don’t let your mum daunt you. If you’re enjoying it and your husband’s with you, try and get her convinced as well.

  4. I think it sounds like fun, my friend is a hair stylist and she loves her job 😀

  5. Sounds like something you want to do passionately. Good luck!

    Poor husband!

  6. isheeta

    Ur hubby sounds like a typical scorpio, hahahaha.

    I say jump head first into something that youre passionate about.. if u really like it, you WILL make something out of it.

  7. Congratulations on figuring our your niche and going for it…!! You’re better off than 95% of the population who hate what do they for a living! (Don’t quote me on the statistics!!)

    Alright girlie, good luck!!!

  8. Thanks ALL you guys! xoxoxxx

    @ Specy: Either she’ll be mad. Or there will be no reaction. I’m going with the former. Especially cause I got ANOTHER cat!!!

    @ Isheeta: Does he? He’s Virgo. Although I wouldn’t know what the difference is for the life of me.

    @Marigold: Right now I’m part of the 95% 😦 Can’t wait to get to the other side!!

  9. Good luck, with motivation and the right attitute anything can be achieved:)

  10. Hey, even i wanna start my own cafe, sheesha house…. cosy, warm, n relaxing.. someday.. lets begin.. 😉

    i would really wanna do that at sum point of my life!

Leave a Reply

